Potatoes in Canada

P.E.I.’s potato industry has a new crop of leaders

The P.E.I. Potato Board recently elected three new directors, a new vice-chairman and a new chairman.

November 30, 2018
By PEI Potato Board

Jason Hayden has been elected to the chairman’s position. He has been on the board for four years serving as the table-stock director for the Charlottetown district. He farms with his family in Pownal, where they grow and pack fresh potatoes. He served as the board’s vice-chairman in 2017-18.

Chad Robertson of Souris was elected as the new vice-chairman. He and his family own and operate Marvyn’s Gardens Inc. He represents the table-stock sector for the Montague/Souris district.

John Hogg of Summerside will continue in the role of secretary-treasurer. He and his family own and operate Klondike Farms and he represents the processing sector for the Summerside district.

The new directors are Craig Wallace of Wallace Properties Ltd., representing the processing sector for the West Prince district; John Visser of Victoria Potato Farm Inc., representing the table-stock sector for the Summerside district; and Billy Cameron of Cameron Farms, representing the seed sector for the Charlottetown district.

The remaining returning directors are Harris Callaghan, processing West Prince; Glen Rayner, seed, West Prince; David Francis, seed, Summerside; Rodney Dingwell, processing, Souris-Montague; Wayne Townshend, seed, Souris-Montague; Mark MacMillan, processing, Charlottetown; and Kyle Maynard, young farmer representative.

Retiring from the board were Darryl Wallace, Alex Docherty and Fulton Hamill.

Directors serve three-year terms and are eligible for re-election to serve a second term.

The P.E.I. Potato Board represents local potato farmers and assists in growing the markets for Island spuds locally, nationally, and internationally.